For anyone who was inspired by the primaries, and has been appalled by the pathetic, cheap, petty, inane, and dishonest campaign we've seen so far in the general, I share your disappointment.
I guess all good things come to an end. No one wants politicians to be daisies who have no clue how the world works; but they had a chance, for the first time in maybe a generation, to have a better, more honest, more honorable campaign. I place the blame primarily on the Obama campaign, and not because I support McCain. It is simply a fact. McCain offered 10 historic town halls. Put aside the partisan glasses for a minute. Think about how incredible that would have been: just two countrymen campaigning to lead the greatest nation on earth, meeting face to face in front of ordinary Americans, without all the spin and the media and the junk. Just an honest debate. Think about how revolutionary that would have been, and how refreshing.
Instead, Obama rejected it. And since then, we have been treated to an ever-worsening mixture of spin, trash, pettiness, gaffes, fake outrage, and dishonesty. Obama didn't just change positions on two or three issues; the way he did it was so outrageous and disingenuous. This guy had America in his hand; we liked him, and we trusted him, even if we didn't agree. He has damaged it greatly with a month of fudging and idiocy.
Beyond that, his campaign has taken on a messianic tint, and it seems that the people around him have completely lost all humility. The candidate himself, with his already large ego, has lost control.
McCain has taken to effectively accusing Obama of treason, and an obscene level of cravenesss. As if Obama would rather lose a war, with all the deaths that that would entail, than lose a campaign. The insane and dark quality to this charge will damage McCain. But hey, why should we be surprised by anything these people do anymore?
The madness of 18 months of campaigning has degraded what is best about each man and elevated what is worst. They should take a month off and give everyone a break from the idiocy, and get some perspective. What I wouldn't give for the snowy days of Iowa.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment